Congratulatory/welcome phrases in Ukrainian

Moderator:TheStrayCat

Skrej
Congratulatory/welcome phrases in Ukrainian

Postby Skrej » 2022-05-12, 14:03

Hello everyone.

I'm an ESL teacher here in the US. I had a former student call me yesterday asking about returning to class. She has been out for a while on maternity leave, and now has a six month old boy. When congratulating her and asking how the baby was doing, she said he was doing well, but then laughed and said "He's getting so fat".

She is also bringing a Ukrainian friend who has recently arrived in the US, who's interested in enrolling in some college classes to study computers/information technology. I teach at a local community college, so I frequently help our students enroll in non-ESL classes as well. We'll be meeting in my office to see how I can best help them.

So, I have a couple of questions.

1) Can anyone suggest some phrases or terms in Ukrainian that would be appropriate to specifically commenting on the baby in a congratulatory way? Are there any particular phrases you might say when you see someone's baby for the first time? As mentioned, she called him 'fat', so perhaps a funny (but positive) term to refer to him that way? Any suggestions welcome. Any other terms of endearment one uses for babies in Ukrainian? If there's a funny term or phrase, that would be great, but even a straightforward 'congratulations' would be fine. Even something I could direct towards the baby like "Hi little guy".

She speaks very good English, but I'd like to offer something in her native language.

2) What are some common or traditional welcome phrases I could offer to her friend (who I'll be meeting for the first time). Something simply like "Welcome" or 'Nice to meet you". I've always believed that even just attempting a few words in someone's native language is appreciated, even if they speak your language as well.