Hindi - n8an

Moderator:vijayjohn

n8an
Hindi - n8an

Postby n8an » 2018-08-06, 15:01

Years after making a start and then stopping, I'm back on it!

I formerly used both the TY Hindi and Elementary Hindi (textbook and workbook). I've been using the EH this time because I can't find my TY Hindi :-( but both seem good.

I've been having a few issues regarding usage of the oblique case, but I will have to double check exactly where I was going wrong before I ask questions of you guys.

vijayjohn
Language Forum Moderator

Re: Hindi - n8an

Postby vijayjohn » 2018-08-06, 15:04

Oh wow, welcome back and good luck! :D

n8an

Postby n8an » 2018-08-07, 10:24

vijayjohn wrote:Oh wow, welcome back and good luck! :D

Thank you :D

I'm enjoying it so much more this time. Last time I studied Hindi I had never learned a language with cases (at all), so now that I've done several others I find it much more logical :)

n8an

Postby n8an » 2018-08-13, 16:36

So I'm finally feeling like I'm making progress :D

I love how this language sounds.

n8an

Postby n8an » 2018-08-15, 14:48

Okay, question time:

I have been reading about the many uses of को in adverbs of time, as well as with direct/indirect objects and destination for verbs of motion.

Obviously nouns go into the oblique case when followed by a postposition, including को.

My book has this sentence:

अक्सर वह बाज़ार जाता और वहाँ से अपनी एक ख़ास दोस्त कविता के घर जाता.

So my question is:

I know that कविता के घर is in the oblique case because it is the destination of the verb जाता, and thus को is the postposition. I understand that it is left unexpressed normally. But could you use it in this case, or would that just be weird?

n8an

Postby n8an » 2018-08-15, 14:51

Ah, also:

Why is क्यों pronounced "kyoon" instead of "kyon", and बहुत pronounced as "bahot" instead of "bahut"?

It's like they've swapped vowel sounds!