Meera and dEhiN's Swedish Thread

Moderator:Johanna

dEhiN
Meera and dEhiN's Swedish Thread

Postby dEhiN » 2017-01-21, 12:36

Hej alla, jag är dEhiN. I'm starting to learn Swedish - actually I learned en lite in the past, but now am trying again. I'm a beginner, and this will be my thread for any questions I have, attempts at translations (in the future), etc. I will probably write a mix of Swedish and English in the beginning so I can practice the few words I know.

Jag har en question: how do I pronounce the two <a> in dansa? I say /dɒnsɐ/ but Wiktionary has an audio clip that says it like /dansa/.

Tack in advance!
Last edited by dEhiN on 2017-07-01, 6:45, edited 1 time in total.
Native: (en-ca)
Active: (fr)(es)(pt-br)(ta-lk)(mi)(sq)(tl)
Inactive: (de)(ja)(yue)(oj)(id)(hu)(pl)(tr)(hi)(zh)(sv)(ko)(no)(it)(haw)(fy)(nl)(nah)(gl)(ro)(cy)(oc)(an)(sr)(en_old)(got)(sux)(grc)(la)(sgn-us)

Osias

Re: dEhiN's Swedish Thread

Postby Osias » 2017-01-21, 16:56

I strongly suspect the answer is long, complex and involves dialects.
2017 est l'année du (fr) et de l'(de) pour moi. Parle avec moi en eux, s'il te plait.

Jurgen Wullenwever

Postby Jurgen Wullenwever » 2017-01-21, 22:02

Well, it is about the stress, I think. The first a is a stressed short vowel, while the second is a short unstressed vowel, and a is the only vowel that did not become schwa in every unstressed situation in Swedish.

So if I made a clear bookish speech, then I would say /'dansa/ with two approximately similar vowels. In normal speech, on the other hand, I might say /'dæˑnsə/ or /'dæˑnsɐ/. Notice the semilengthened vowel, that belongs to the whining accents in central Sweden (gnällbältet). The second vowel is here much weaker than in the bookish version. :!:

Osias wrote:I strongly suspect the answer is long, complex and involves dialects.

Satisfied? :partyhat: