Good teaching tools for translation?

AlbaRules

Good teaching tools for translation?

Postby AlbaRules » 2011-02-11, 1:03

I am a tutor to kids in my high school (NHS requirement). His main problem is translation. Are there any good guides to this? I don't mean like a guide for declensions, conjugations, etc., but like explaining how to translate and find word order in Lingua Latina.

For example, he has trouble comparing English to Latin sentences. English grammar is "Subject verb object" while Latin is "Subject object verb". Are there any guides to help show the comparisons between the two?

Also, he has trouble finding the verbs in the sentences. One sentence was "De Gallia rogäs ac de nobis cognoscëre cupis." To him (a beginner whose freshman teacher taught them less than he told the sophmore teacher they learned) "rogäs" looked like a noun. I told him it is just experience, but is it? Is there a way for someone less experienced to realize that?

Gratia, auxilium omnis amplexibo.

P.S. I am a little out of practice with English to Latin translation, so forgive any errors I made in my last line :)
Currently learning English (native but always learning), Gaidhlig and Lingua Latina (Scientia linguae trimus est)
Far more interested in Scottish Gaelic though as I have least experience with it. Would love to learn Welsh and Ancient Greek though will get to later.

KingHarvest

Re: Good teaching tools for translation?

Postby KingHarvest » 2011-02-11, 1:59

Saying that Latin is subject object verb isn't particularly helpful. Latin can and does arrange word order anyway it wishes on a regular basis. After lots and lots of reading you'll begin to get a sense for natural Latin word order, but it's far too complex and nuanced to really explain in generalities for someone who is just beginning. The best advice is to memorize your endings and to be well aware of whether a particular ending can be found in both nouns/adjectives and verbs.