Latin Questions

culúrien
Latin Questions

Postby culúrien » 2009-06-15, 20:08

I started learning Latin a couple weeks ago and I'll post my questions here.
Llevo un par de semanas empazando a aprender el latín y escribiré mis preguntas aquí

What does this mean? "Graecorum antiquorum erit gloria sempiterna." Everlasting glory will be the ancient Greeks' "?
Qué quiere decir esto? "Graecorum antiquorum erit gloria sempiterna." La gloria eterna pertenecerá a los griegos clásicos?
استیسی

KingHarvest

Re: Latin Questions

Postby KingHarvest » 2009-06-15, 20:10

Yes.
Most men are rather stupid, and most of those who are not stupid are, consequently, rather vain.
-A.E. Housman

Nero

Postby Nero » 2009-09-28, 14:17

"Graecorum antiquorum erit gloria sempiterna"

It could also mean, "The glory of the Ancient Greeks will be everlasting"

lumiel

Postby lumiel » 2009-11-28, 14:07

Is it okay if I borrow this thread a bit? Didn't want to start a new thread because of this...

I was wondering if someone could read these translations and correct the mistakes in them. It's a translation exercise from an old Latin study book and I just thought I'd give it a try.

1. The daughter of Latona loves the forests.
Filia Latonae silvas amat.

2. Latona's daughter carries arrows.
Filia Latonae sagittas portat.

3. The farmers' daughters do labor.
Filiae agricolarum laborant.

4. The farmer's daughter loves the waters of the forest.
Filia agricolae aquas silvae amat.

5. The sailor is announcing the girls' flight.
Nauta fugam puellarum nuntiat.

6. The girls announce the sailors' wrongs.
Puellae causas nautarum nuntiant.

7. The farmer's daughter labors.
Filia agricolae laborat.

8. Diana's arrows are killing the wild beasts of the land.
Sagittae Dianae feras terrae necant.
[flag]fi[/flag] [flag]sme[/flag] [flag]et[/flag] [flag]fr[/flag] [flag]fr-qc[/flag]
Kas siis selle maa keel
laulutuules ei või
taevani tõustes üles
igavikku omale otsida?

KingHarvest