Bokmal vs Nynorsk

Moderator:Johanna

jamescull
Bokmal vs Nynorsk

Postby jamescull » 2006-01-14, 17:13

I started learning Norwegian about 4 months ago, and I soon discovered that my course (Teach Yourself Norwegian by Margarata Danbolt Simons) taught Bokmal. I was recently given a article in Nynorsk and found that I couldn't understand most of it.

Will Bokmal remain or will Nynorsk completely take over? Should I buy a Nynorsk course and start all over again?

Car
Forum Administrator

Postby Car » 2006-01-14, 18:52

You might want to read the article about Bokmål and Nynorsk at the UniLang Wiki.

Once your Bokmål improves, Nynorsk should also be easier to read for you.
Please correct my mistakes!

selters

Re: Bokmal vs Nynorsk

Postby selters » 2006-01-15, 3:23

jamescull wrote:I started learning Norwegian about 4 months ago, and I soon discovered that my course (Teach Yourself Norwegian by Margarata Danbolt Simons) taught Bokmal. I was recently given a article in Nynorsk and found that I couldn't understand most of it.

Will Bokmal remain or will Nynorsk completely take over? Should I buy a Nynorsk course and start all over again?

I will probably get flamed for this, but the only reason why nynorsk is kept alive is that fanatics control the language policies in Norway. The vast majority of the population uses bokmal. Some people will claim that several hundred thousand people in Norway use nynorsk as their main written language. Perhaps this is true, because some schools are forced to teach nynorsk by the fanatics.

Throughout the course of my entire life, the people I have met that write nynorsk exclusively can be counted on one hand.

Don't worry, at least 95% of everything written in Norwegian is in bokmal.

I know some of the fanatics visit this board frequently, and they will of course try to convince you that nynorsk is worth learning.

Gormur

Re: Bokmal vs Nynorsk

Postby Gormur » 2006-01-15, 19:24

selters wrote: