SGP'S Coming Closer To Nihongo (Japanese) Log

langmon
SGP'S Coming Closer To Nihongo (Japanese) Log

Postby langmon » 2018-11-06, 13:05

This is log is about coming closer to Japanese which is a language that I already know at a very basic level, so I am not starting it from scratch.

Now some might wonder why I am making a dedicated Nihongo log when there already is the older one about several languages that even includes the one of Japan in its title, too. My motivation for beginning this particular log is that as the time went on, something that I already knew became even more clear to me. This is about the fact that not everyone of those who are interested in Japanese would always even read the updates in the other (multi-language) log. This is understandable of course, because they wouldn't even be able to know whether the current post is about a language they are especially interested in, or if it is about, for example, French or Dutch.

Currently I am still learning Hiragana and Katakana, there only are a few characters that I can recognize without thinking too much.

                                   

Recently I was listening to the very same audio clip several times while also reading its transcript. This was a listening exercise which I repeated on a few occasions. It is about practicing to understand spoken Japanese.

When I did this exercise (like maybe three times, then three times again after some hours, and so on), I noticed a spaced repetition effect and an increase in understanding that wouldn't be possible if I listened to the same audio clip ten times in one single session.

And yes, I do know that Romaji (Japanese written with the Latin alphabet) has its limits. Still, I am using it as a kind of a bridge. If I wouldn't have used it in the past, I wouldn't even know basic level Japanese today.