Japanese and Chinese simultaneously?

Remis

Japanese and Chinese simultaneously?

Postby Remis » 2011-08-12, 18:25

This forum seems like it's more active than the Chinese one so I'll just post my question here.

I have been doing Mandarin Chinese for my SAC 2011 (not that I've done a lot), and am going to continue studying it. However, I recently gained an interest for Japanese, and am therefore wondering whether there are any advantages and/or disadvantages to studying them at the same time? The grammars are different enough for me to be able to keep them apart, so it's mostly the Hanzi/Kanji I'm worried about. Would it be beneficial for me, as the characters are similar (and in most[?] cases the same), or the opposite, just because they are so similar?
Also, I figure remembering pronunciation could pose a problem due to different pronunciations of the same character (say, 日; read in Japanese as hi, and in Mandarin as ).
I'm doing Simplified Chinese, by the way.

Any thoughts?
Remis Kalvan | art / ˈfɛɪsˌbʊk | L1: [flag]no-nb[/flag] L2: [flag]en[/flag] reading short stories in: [flag]it[/flag] [flag]es[/flag]

TAC 2012 [flag]ja[/flag] [flag]la[/flag] ([flag]es-mx[/flag] [flag]non[/flag])
Of immense interest: [flag]grc[/flag] [flag]akk[/flag] [flag]egy[/flag] [flag]ar[/flag] [flag]mt[/flag] [flag]ga[/flag] [flag]eu[/flag] [flag]pl[/flag] [flag]prg[/flag] [flag]nah[/flag] [flag]qu[/flag] [flag]nv[/flag] [flag]zh.Hant[/flag]
Wanderlustin' for [flag]ain[/flag] [flag]ka[/flag] [flag]mn[/flag] [flag]cy[/flag] [flag]af[/flag]

Kasuya

Re: Japanese and Chinese simultaneously?

Postby Kasuya » 2011-08-12, 19:11