How hard is Czech to learn? Where do I start?

Destati
How hard is Czech to learn? Where do I start?

Postby Destati » 2013-08-07, 16:23

Native Dutch speaker here, willing to learn Czech. However, tons of people say it's a very hard to learn language. Is it really that hard? I am new to the language learning world, I don't have a lot of experience in learning languages. Is Czech worth the time and effort? If yes, where should I start? I don't see a lot of resources on the internet, and I don't want to start a language I can't finish due the lack of resources.

Btw, if there's someone here that speaks Czech and would like to learn Dutch, contact me, we could help each other :)

johnklepac

Re: How hard is Czech to learn? Where do I start?

Postby johnklepac » 2013-08-09, 6:22

Destati wrote:Native Dutch speaker here, willing to learn Czech. However, tons of people say it's a very hard to learn language. Is it really that hard? I am new to the language learning world, I don't have a lot of experience in learning languages.

It's harder than, for example, German would be for you, but probably not as hard as Mandarin Chinese or Navajo. I think the hardest part is the case declensions, and even that is manageable if you practice (though I still mess up sometimes).

Is Czech worth the time and effort?

That depends on why you want to learn it. I personally didn't have much of a practical reason, but my mother is of mostly Czech heritage and my dad has a bit of Czech blood too, so I thought of it as an ancestral tongue. Are you interested in the Czech Republic? Do you have Czech friends?

If yes, where should I start? I don't see a lot of resources on the internet, and I don't want to start a language I can't finish due the lack of resources.

This lists some courses that Unilangers have come up with. I've never used them, but I've heard they're quite useful.