Luís
Forum Administrator
"Ser" and "Estar" in Portuguese

Postby Luís » 2006-01-20, 15:11

v 1.0

SER (from Latin sedere)

- identifying someone
Sou o Luís (I'm Luís)
Aquele é o João (That one over there is João)

- professions and nationalities/origin
Sou estudante (I'm a student)
O Paul é francês (Paul is French) / O Paul é da França (Paul is from France)

- personality and physical traits
Ela é simpática (She's nice)
O Pedro é muito alto (Pedro is very tall)

- possession
Esse livro é meu (That book is mine)

- time
São duas da tarde (It's 2pm)
É verão (It's summer)

- impersonal expressions
É bom viajar (It's good to travel)

ESTAR (from Latin stare)

Onde está o meu livro (Where is my book?)
Estou em casa (I'm at home)

- emotions and temporary physical states
Estou contente (I'm happy)
Estou cansada (I'm tired)

- with the progressive tenses
Estou a comer/Estou comendo (I'm eating)
Estivemos a beber/Estivemos bebendo (We've been drinking)

One important exception is when you're talking about the location of cities/countries/streets/buildings, etc., in which you use "ficar" or "ser", not "estar":

Onde é que fica o Brasil/ Onde é que é o Brasil? (Where is Brazil?)
Onde é o hotel? / Onde fica o hotel? (Where is the hotel?)

Once again, pay attention to the nuances:

O Pedro é doente(Pedro is a sick man [he has a persistent disease for all his life])
O Pedro está doente (Pedro is sick [now, he caught a cold or something])

Sou optimista (I'm optimistic [it's my nature])
Estou optimista (I'm optimistic [right now, about a particular thing])

Of course once again there are idioms/expressions and many particular usages that you'll have to learn by listening to native speakers/practicing, etc.
Quot linguas calles, tot homines vales

Nendûr

Postby Nendûr » 2006-05-28, 2:52

pra me é mais facil... porque falo espanhol :)

eu falo muito poco português...

i've never learnt 'portuguesisch'

Luís
Forum Administrator

Postby Luís » 2006-05-28, 11:54