Personal pronouns in Portuguese

Moderator:Luís

ujjain
Personal pronouns in Portuguese

Postby ujjain » 2012-11-20, 8:17

I have been learning Brazilian Portuguese for almost 6 months. This week I have been practicing some Portuguese with people from Portugal. One of the differences is that in Portugal they use "tu" instead of "você".

This also means that "teu carro" is used instead of "seu carro". I wonder what would be his car in Portugal? Most websites have instructions of learning Portuguese are Brazilian Portuguese, so I decided to ask on the forums here.

Brazilian Portuguese
you have a car - você tem um carro.
your car - seu carro.
his car - o carro dele.

European Portuguese
you have a car - tu tens um carro.
your car - teu carro.
his car - ?

What is his car in European Portuguese? "Seu carro" means "o carro dele" or "o carro de você" in European Portuguese?

Luís
Forum Administrator

Re: Personal pronouns in Portuguese

Postby Luís » 2012-11-20, 12:54

It would be the same, actually (o carro dele). You should note, though, that "seu carro" can also mean "his car" in both EP and BP, but it's more ambiguous and usually avoided.

Also, we do use "você" in EP, but it different contexts. We have a "Jij"/"U" distinction as in Dutch (with "você" being "U") while in Brazil they don't.
Quot linguas calles, tot homines vales

Osias

Postby Osias » 2012-11-20, 13:17

Brazilian Portuguese: where everything is more complex. I mean, we also say "teu carro". We even say "você trouxe teu carro" mixing both forms in the same sentence. If you want I can post some songs with examples.

Also we don't have T/V distinction, but have formal treatment words: "o senhor" and "a senhora" being the most commom.
2017 est l'année du (fr) et de l'(de) pour moi. Parle avec moi en eux, s'il te plait.

Psi-Lord

Postby Psi-Lord » 2012-11-20, 15:14

osias wrote:[…] we also say "teu carro". We even say "você trouxe teu carro" mixing both forms in the same sentence.