How to conjugate Croatian Verbs?

guenterpolo
How to conjugate Croatian Verbs?

Postby guenterpolo » 2012-12-30, 23:22

Bok moji prijatelji !

I am just beginning to learn Croatian and I am having trouble understanding the conjugation of verbs. Could someone please tell me the conjugations for I; you; he,she,she; we; you(plural); they?
If you could just do a couple different verbs and the conjugations I would be grateful. If you could also explain the differences between -ati; eti; etc... that would be great! Hvala!
Native: [flag=]en[/flag]
B1-B2: [flag=]nl[/flag][flag=]es[/flag]

Corrections are welcome!

Lalaith en Noldor

Re: How to conjugate Croatian Verbs?

Postby Lalaith en Noldor » 2013-01-03, 16:12

Uuhh.

First of all, welcome! It's always nice to see someone learning Croatian :)

Basically, you have 2 main types of verbs: the one that ends in -ti and the other that ends in -ći. The first category (-ti) can be divided into subcategories like verbs ending in -ati, -(j)eti, -iti, -uti, -ovati, etc.; the second category stays as it is and has no subdivisions. The verbs that end in -ati (like hodati [to walk]) will usually be conjugated like this:

1. ja hodam
2. ti hod
3. on/ona/ono hoda

1. mi hodamo
2. vi hodate
3. oni/one/ona hodaju

with a few exceptions (which will be explained in the proper "paragraph").

Next, we have those that end in -iti (eg. raditi [to work]) and -(j)eti (eg. vidjeti [to see]):

1. ja radim/vidim
2. ti rad/vid
3. on/ona/ono radi/vidi

1. mi radimo/vidimo
2. vi radite/vidite
3. oni/one/ona rade/vide

So far no exceptions have crossed my mind, so my guess is that they are all regular, ie. take these endings. But, the verbs that end in -čati, -žati and sometimes -jati (eg. trčati [to run], držati [to hold], stajati [to stand]) are conjugated like this (stajati -> stojim is a bit irregular, the others are regular. I think you'll just have to learn this by heart.).

The verbs that end in -uti (eg. krenuti [to start moving])

1. ja krenem