Stress on nouns with pronominal suffixes...

Brzeczyszczykiewicz
Stress on nouns with pronominal suffixes...

Postby Brzeczyszczykiewicz » 2020-05-02, 7:17

So, I'm now studying pronominal suffixes and while the rules for adding them to nouns seem to me pretty straightforward (thus far, at least... :para: ), I'm unsure as to how you're supposed to stress such nouns once you've added those suffixes.

For instance, "ראשו" ('his head') would be pronounced "rósho" or "roshó"? "ראשינו" ('our heads') would be "rashéinu", right? But then what about "ראשיהם" ('their (m.) heads')? Would that be "rashéihem" or "rasheihém"?
"מלכתם" ('their (m.) queen') would be "malcátam" or "malcatám"?

Drink

Re: Stress on nouns with pronominal suffixes...

Postby Drink » 2020-05-03, 13:57

Basically each suffix has its own stress rule. If you're learning this from a textbook, then the textbook should mention where to stress each suffix, and if it doesn't it's a bad textbook. Anyway, hope this helps:

roshí (my)

rosh'chá (your m.sg.)

roshéch (your f.sg.)

roshó (his)

rosháh (her)

roshénu (our)

rosh'chém (your m.pl.)

rosh'chén (your f.pl.)

roshám (their m.)

roshán (their f.)

rasháy (my)

rashécha (your m.sg.)

rasháyich (your f.sg.)

rasháv (his)

rashéha (her)

rashénu (our)

rashechém (your m.pl.)

rashechén (your f.pl.)

rashehém (their m.)

rashehén (their f.)
שתה וגם גמליך אשקה

Brzeczyszczykiewicz

Postby Brzeczyszczykiewicz » 2020-05-04, 2:43

Actually, no, I'm not learning it from any textbook, but I encounter these suffixes more and more often of late, which is to be expected, since I'm trying to read more in Hebrew, and I was going mad with frustration for not knowing the correct way to stress them.

Your answer definitely helps a lot, thank you very much!

Drink

Postby Drink » 2020-05-04, 19:01

What sorts of things are you reading?
שתה וגם גמליך אשקה

Brzeczyszczykiewicz

Postby Brzeczyszczykiewicz » 2020-05-04, 23:22