translating WWI leaflet

Moderator:kevin

TomFuller
translating WWI leaflet

Postby TomFuller » 2018-09-13, 15:17

Hi. I am Tom from Lubbock, Texas, and this is my first post. I studied German in high school and college, but have never used it as a conversational language. Now I'm trying to translate an allied leaflet dropped on Germans in World War I. My grandfather included this in a letter he wrote home. With the help of an Internet translation page I have gotten most of it. However, some of it is still baffling. Especially the second short paragraph. I came up with "Already a large part of their Army in March and April overruns boundaries of the agreement" but that doesn't sound exactly right. It is attached. Can anyone help me? I'm copying his letters to send to family and others who are interested in The Great War. Thank you! TnT
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Car
Forum Administrator

Re: translating WWI leaflet

Postby Car » 2018-09-13, 15:36

You're sure you managed to read everything well and don't need any help with that? I'm really no expert for military lingo, let alone in English.

That part you cited means something like "Already a large part of the territory that was overrun by these armies in March and April has been reconquered by the Entente."
Please correct my mistakes!

TomFuller

Postby TomFuller » 2018-09-13, 16:25

No, I'm not certain at all that I have translated it well. Here is what I came up with. Please correct anything wrong, if you will. I appreciate it. Danke! TnT

The German Withdrawal Continues

The French, English, and American troops drove the Germans out of their way with systematic and rapid movements.

Already a large part of their Army in March and April overruns boundaries of the agreement.