Could someone clarify verbal forms?

Moderator:eskandar

bogororo
Could someone clarify verbal forms?

Postby bogororo » 2005-04-12, 12:58

Hi,

I've been learning arabic for about 2 years now, without a very solid course. Despite the fact that I found the verbal references described in many places I have yet to find a resource actually detailing what each form does semantically to the triliteral root - the only example I know is taqala (to kill) and taqqala (to massacre). I would appreciate if someone could either explain the roots or give me a link to a site that does.

Thank you!

Asminha

Postby Asminha » 2005-04-16, 7:43

I guess that my respons is a bit late, but I just wanted to comment after all :)

The verb to kill is qatala قتل, so as you see, the root is composed by three letters :-)

bogororo

Postby bogororo » 2005-04-16, 13:00

Hi, thanks for the correction.

But would you care to detail what which form does to the meaning - such as the second form exagerating the first? Thank you!

Postby Guest » 2005-04-17, 12:42

Hello,

Let me try to answer your question, even if I am not that familiar with English nominations to Arabic rules.

The verb to kill is: 9atala -- قتل
For the third singular pronoun 'he', it's ya9tulu -- يقتل
The noun itself is: 9atl -- قتل

I hope that helps -- And by the way, I am not that familiar with writing Arabic letters in Latin, either.. Like using 3 and 7 and 9 :roll:

M@!

Postby M@! » 2005-04-17, 12:44

I don't know if this the right place to ask such question, but, I did activate my account, so why did I appear as a guest? And what's the difference between registering and joining?

proycon
Server Administrator

Postby proycon » 2005-04-19, 7:34

You might need to login now, using the data you specified when registering/joining (same thing) . There's a link to login to the forum in the gray bar on top of the screen.
Language is the dress of thought -- Samuel Johnson
my homepage

M@!

Postby M@! » 2005-04-19, 12:08

Hello,