new

Moderator: Iván

culúrien

new

Postby culúrien » 2005-12-29, 16:39

Hi. I'm new to learning català. I just wanted to say hi and to ask what are the differences between català, valencià, and Balear. As I understand their dialects? I haven't really heard any information on Balear at all.
استیسی

allemaalmeezinge

Postby allemaalmeezinge » 2005-12-29, 17:12

no diguis à un valènciano que parleu català o.O
(almenys no à shakk :P)
There are some differences but I think they are of course intelligible. The biggest difference could be the so called Balearic article they use on the Balears ("sa" etc.) Besides that there are some natural differences in the vocabulary, for example the word for "please" ("Susplau") is only used in Catalonia, whilst on the Balears and in València "per favor" is used -- as far as I know.

The mallorquí has too a change in the conjugation of verbs. It seems that it's losening the person-marking last vowel. Example:
Catalan: Jo canto
Valencian: Jo cante
Mallorquí: Jo cant

For the Balearic article, it corresponds as it follows:
masculine
Catalan: el, els
Balearic: es, ets
feminine
Catalan: la, les
Balearic: sa, ses

culúrien

Postby culúrien » 2005-12-29, 17:58

gracias para tu ayuda! :lol:

Let´s just hope I don´t mix up my español and català
استیسی

allemaalmeezinge

Postby allemaalmeezinge » 2005-12-29, 18:03

my pleasure, the thing is I'm a very beginner, too, we have to wait for our Catalan Unilangers to give more information if needed :p
I just wanted to give a first impression of the general situation as noone else seemed to have been around o.O
:)

elxiquet

Postby elxiquet » 2005-12-31, 14:14

Benvingut Celebrian :)

Yabba said some differences, the most important i would say. You can find more information in wikipedia :P

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Valencian
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Balearic
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Catalan_language