Learning Notes - Expugnator

Moderator:Multiturquoise

E}{pugnator
Learning Notes - Expugnator

Postby E}{pugnator » 2010-06-13, 16:24

Hi people!

I've started this thread as a sort of personal blog where I will be posting my remarks, doubts tips (and typos :lol: )concerning the learning process. I don't know if such threads are allowed apart from the TAC forum, but I don't feel like participating on it, I'd rather have a personal thread within the actual forum. I think it's a more intimate environment :D

I think now I have most of the popular books for learning Georgian. I'm using primarily Beginner's Georgian by Dodona Kiziria, with some glances at Georgian: a learner's grammar - 2nd edition, which I still find very useful despite all criticisms. Wish I could take more benefits from Tschenkeli's grammar, especially its translating exercises on volume II, but it's in German.

I'm a true beginner. I know most of the letters of the alphabet plus some 50 words and a few grammar rules. I plan to update this thread about 3-4 times a week.

If anyone is interested in getting more Georgian material, including the books I mentioned, just contact me.
Learning Georgian, Mandarin Chinese, Russian and Papiamentu from scratch. Trying to brush up my Norwegian up to an advanced level.

Sean of the Dead

Re: Learning Notes - Expugnator

Postby Sean of the Dead » 2010-06-13, 17:41

I am also very interested in learning Georgian, so I'll be following your log. :) I have been interested in it on and off for a year or more, but always thought it was impossible to learn and horribly irregular, and while it is very foreign, and not perfectly regular, it's not nearly as hard as people make it out to be; it can be learned just fine if you put the effort into it. I'll be learning a bit over the summer (which starts in 9 days for me), since I'll have a lot of time to try out other languages.