Help! I'm a U.S. Monoglot! How Can I Contribute?

Moderator: JackFrost

kindofblue525

Help! I'm a U.S. Monoglot! How Can I Contribute?

Postby kindofblue525 » 2005-10-31, 15:19

Okay, I'm not really a 'monoglot,' per se, but I feel that since I'm only still learning other languages and since many Unilangers already have a firm command of English, I don't have much to offer to return the favor.

What can I do to help the Unilang community? Anyone have any translations they want an opinion on? Anyone want to bone up on New England slang?

I want to repay the community somehow. Got any ideas?

Dave

P.S. - And, no, I don't have enough money to actually pay you all :wink:.

Kazimer

Re: Help! I'm a U.S. Monoglot! How Can I Contribute?

Postby Kazimer » 2005-11-01, 3:30

You're not alone. I am still learning French and German and there are many like us. To be a good Unilanger ask questions, because others may have the same ones or share your knowledge on a topic. Finally, don't be shy about posting. We are all here to learn and improve upon what we know. :wink:

What languages are you learning/speak?

Kazimer

Kirk

Postby Kirk » 2005-11-01, 4:57

You're not required to speak any number of languages to post on unilang (whether it be 1 or 27 or somewhere in between), but it's great you're interested in making an effort to learn and/or improve upon your nonnative language(s) you're studying. It is true that nonnative English speakers on unilang almost always have an impressive command of English, but instead of that discouraging or intimidating you, look at the amazing resources you have available to you to learn, practice, and perfect the nonnative language(s) you're learning! I know I've learned some very useful things about the languages I'm studying from fellow unilangers on here. People are generally really friendly and eager to share about their language, so like phreaker said, don't be afraid to ask questions, as people are more than willing to help :)