GENDER INCLUSIVE ENGLISH - HELP NEEDED!

Moderator: JackFrost

basiek

GENDER INCLUSIVE ENGLISH - HELP NEEDED!

Postby basiek » 2005-10-12, 16:25

Hello
I am a student of English in Poland and I could use some help collecting data on the use of gender inclusive English for my MA thesis.
I've prepared a questionnaire and posted it at http://www.ghnet.pl/~mjmth/questionnaire.rtf
if anyone could find some time to fill it out I would be extremely grateful
all the details and instructions are included in the rtf file
if anyone is willing to help please email the filled out questionnaire to basiek@poczta.fm
Thank you!

amoeba

Postby amoeba » 2005-10-13, 3:17

I've completed the survey and I found some interesting points.

For example, I chose 'nurse' as the gender neutral form, but admitted that when speaking about a nurse, I was more likely to use 'she/her' than 'they/them'.

Also, I found that while I recognize some feminine forms for male nouns (e.g. governess for governor), I would still use the male forms for gender neutral. So, I would never call Canadian Governor General Michaëlle Jean by the title, *Governess General.

And interestingly enough, I think everyone uses the term 'freshman' for women. But 'freshman' isn't a word often used in Canada, from my experience.

English speakers want to eradicate all gender titles in their language, but at the same time speakers of most other European languages are more at ease with them. I think it's because English has so few grammatical gender distinctions, and so any nouns or pronouns to be found in only masculine or feminine forms are seen to be sexist. I personally don't find anything sexist at all about saying 'one should mind his business' or 'each nurse should take her precautions', because I think it makes the language more vivid and expressive. It's the speakers who may be sexist: language is sexless. But that could just be a biased male perspective, who knows :?

Ariki

Postby Ariki » 2005-10-13, 4:43