dEhiN's Tamil Thread

Moderator:vijayjohn

dEhiN
dEhiN's Tamil Thread

Postby dEhiN » 2017-01-21, 13:13

வணக்கம் எல்லாம். என்னுடைய பேர் dEhiN. This is my Tamil thread. See here for a background of who I am and why I'm learning Tamil.

I'm going to post questions I have in Tamil, and hopefully eventually translations. I'm a beginner in Tamil. Whenever I can, I will write in Tamil but probably in செந்தமிழ். கொடுந்தமிழ் is difficult for me because I want to learn Sri Lankan கொடுந்தமிழ் and most Tamil native speakers I meet online are from Tamil Nadu. I think maybe if I learn proper செந்தமிழ் first, then I can use my Tamil family and friends where I live to practice Sri Lankan கொடுந்தமிழ்.

With that said, I will probably still ask some pronunciation questions. For example, do Tamils generally pronounce கொஞ்சம் as /koɲd͡ʒəm/ or /koɲd͡ʑəm/?

நன்றி.
Native: (en-ca)
Active: (fr)(es)(pt-br)(ta-lk)(mi)(sq)(tl)
Inactive: (de)(ja)(yue)(oj)(id)(hu)(pl)(tr)(hi)(zh)(sv)(ko)(no)(it)(haw)(fy)(nl)(nah)(gl)(ro)(cy)(oc)(an)(sr)(en_old)(got)(sux)(grc)(la)(sgn-us)

vijayjohn
Language Forum Moderator

Re: dEhiN's Tamil Thread

Postby vijayjohn » 2017-01-23, 8:13

dEhiN wrote:வணக்கம் எல்லாம்.

I think எல்லாம் means 'everything', not 'everyone'. I would think "hi everyone" would be something more like எல்லாருக்கும் வணக்கம். Or am I totally off base here? I suspect Aekalaivan or someone like that may be able to give some more valuable feedback here than I can.
For example, do Tamils generally pronounce கொஞ்சம் as /koɲd͡ʒəm/ or /koɲd͡ʑəm/?