How's the Breton I'm learning?

Moderator:kevin

mar_plij
How's the Breton I'm learning?

Postby mar_plij » 2015-05-07, 4:42

I'm working through Assimil's Breton course and am about a third of the way through. The course claims to be standard Breton, but as a beginner, I'm in no place to tell how the language taught in the course compares to the "real" Breton of actual users.

Below is part of a passage from one of the later units. To native/advanced speakers, how does the language used here sound to you?

- Setu ur goulenn all: "Petra 'rajec'h ma n'ho pije nemet un eurvezh da vevañ ken ?"
- Mont a rajen-me da bokat d'an holl re am eus joa oute.
- N'eus ket se. Merkañ a ran "Chom hoc'h-unan-penn gant an hini a garit" evidout da lavaret eo, ar paotr ha n'eo ket divalav a vez gwelet bep Merc'her ganit.
(Lenaig a sav ar ruz d'he divjod, droug a ya enni, tapout a ra krog er gelaouenn hag he zeuler a ra en ur pod-lastez.)

Granted, it's some silly story (like most language books) reinforcing certain grammar points. But that aside, is it easy to understand?

It seems like a lot of speakers of Breton don't care for standard/"chemical" Breton, but I'm just concerned with being understood in writing. My Breton won't have to be pretty, as much as clear and understandable. If (based on this little sample) I'll end up sounding weird regardless just because of my textbook, I'd rather know now than later. :)

Penaos emañ ar brezhoneg emaon o deskiñ neuze ? Trugarez evit ho soñjoù... ha difaziadennoù !

ceid donn

Re: How's the Breton I'm learning?

Postby ceid donn » 2015-10-22, 13:04

Well, I see you've only posted once here at Unilang and this is several months old, but I'll reply in case you come back.