Yucatec Maya

Bennon

Yucatec Maya

Postby Bennon » 2011-01-25, 8:03

I hope/think I'm putting this thread in the right place, despite the fact that most of the threads here are about languages of the US and Canada and that Quechua and Nahuatl have their own forums, but the only other possibly relevant thread I could find was concerning the Tzotzil language.

I'm moving to Oxkutzcab, Yucatán in a couple of months and I'm excited to have a better opportunity to learn and use an indigenous American language, something I've been considering for a few years. I've done Pimsleur's Ojibwe course, but never followed through learning the language on account of the difficulty finding people with whom I can speak and further material.

In preparation for moving to a fairly rural area of Yucatán where I'll hopefully have the opportunity to use and hear it a bit, I've been studying Yucatec Maya. So far I've been using

Maya für Yucatán: Wort für Wort (Grabowski & Kolmer). This provides a good overview of the major points of the grammar and provides a lot of important vocabulary, but it lacks any kind of audio and is structured as a hybrid Phrasebook/Elementary Grammar, which makes it unwieldy to use to learn the language.

Curso Básico de Lengua Maya (de la Secretaría de Educación del Estado de Yucatan): This has audio, but has only a few phrases to which to listen. It's primarily useful for learning vocabulary.

Curso de Maya Yucateco (http://www.panix.com/~bartlett/thoughts.html, listed in the resources here at Unilang)

Mostly I'm posting to see if there are any Unilangers who speak any Maya T'aan, or have studied/are studying it, and if so what kind of sources they used, their experience learning it, etc. Anything you have to add or respond to, please do!

księżycowy

Re: Yucatec Maya

Postby księżycowy » 2011-01-25, 10:47