NAILC 2011 Archive

Imyirtseshem

NAILC 2011 Archive

Postby Imyirtseshem » 2011-10-31, 6:25

This is simply the archive of all the threads from the 2011 NAILC competition.

*********************************************************************************************************************
Yá'át'ééh!

Well, a crazy times begins!

I've got no experience in Native American languages, except very little Inuktitut (a few lessons), so this is all very new and exciting for me. And what a language to start with! Navajo of all the many languages across the world! Well, hopefully my head doesn't burst! :)

Here, I'll probably just complain about how difficult the verbs are and occasionally write with excitement when even the smallest thing makes sense to me. Hope that someone enjoys my writing and please, don't try to speak Navajo with me. At least, not for around 10 years....wait, this is a month project? Oh well...

--------------------------------
Here, a running total of what I've done with the language. Details will be in further posts.

Study: 1h 25m
Immersion: 1h 20m
Input: 52m
Last edited by księżycowy on 2012-01-02, 14:12, edited 5 times in total.
Reason: Added my intro to Imyirtseshem's original post

księżycowy

księży - NAILC - Lakȟotiyapi

Postby księżycowy » 2011-10-31, 11:53

Starting a bit early. Figured why not, eh? :P

So, I'm working on Lakȟotiyápi (Lakota) for this thing. For now I'll just share my thoughts on this language so far:
I like how the only thing that conjugates are the verbs (as with most NA languages). It's a nice change from the highly inflicted languages I've been working on, like Ancient Greek (and even French and Irish to a lesser degree).
This isn't really a polysythetic language either. I never really got into that much when I was studying Mohawk, but I know it's an odd thing to someone from an IE mind set (was for me). So the grammar isn't too hard, aside from the word order.
Word order can be a bitch sometimes. :P