Kanger's TAC 2021 - Mandarin Chinese and Spanish

This forum is for the Total Annihilation Challenge. See the sticky thread for more information.

Moderators:''', Forum Administrators

Allekanger
Kanger's TAC 2021 - Mandarin Chinese and Spanish

Postby Allekanger » 2021-01-02, 23:04

Kanger's TAC 2021

Hi all!

I've never done a TAC before, so I thought I'd try my luck this year. I'm going to focus on two languages primarily, and, if there's time and will, two more. Main focus are:

Mandarin Chinese
I took Mandarin for a semester in college like ten years ago, and a friend of mine and I decided to relearn it together. My friend's Cantonese, so he's a few levels ahead of me, because he knows the hanzi already, but I'll catch up! I'll be using the Hello Chinese app and I thought I'd maybe write and post small texts at the end of the week in Mandarin here based on what I've learnt to track the progress. So very basic, but I'm hoping it'll be fun. The app has been great so far, I really like it. Good amount of new learning, good exercises. 非常好!

Spanish
I like Spanish and it's what got me interested in languages in the first place. I have a novel of Isabel Allende in Spanish that I thought I'd read and learn from. We'll see how that goes. I will try to write summaries of the chapters (I'll add a spoiler cover, so nobody gets informed by mistake!). Any corrections or comments are very much appreciated!

The other two languages are:

Russian
Part of my family is from Belarus, and the father of my sister-in-law doesn't speak English, so I've never really had a conversation with him without my sister-in-law acting as an interpreter. It'd be cool to actually speak with him for real. Although I also think he could try learning English, when everyone else did (his wife is an English teacher!). :P Not sure yet what materials I'll be using, I found a good website before, maybe I'll use that one again.

Esperanto