Do you bother to fully learn your conlang?

This forum is for constructed languages, both those invented by UniLang members and those already existing.

Moderators:Ashucky, Dormouse559

WallOfStuff
Do you bother to fully learn your conlang?

Postby WallOfStuff » 2011-09-20, 20:20

Sorry if this has been done before, I'm new here and only looked through the first page of topics in this forum.

I was just wondering, for those conlangers on here, when you make a language (or languages), do you actually bother to become fully fluent in it by memorizing everything about it, including vocabulary, grammar, pronunciation, and writing? If so, why?

I don't and I have a few reasons why.

For one, since I am rather new to conlanging and languages in general, I am in an experimental stage right now. I constantly make conlangs, and once I realize they are annoying, ugly, or just don't sound good to me, I throw them away completely. Some I stick with longer than others, but eventually they may end up in the trash. So obviously I need to stick with and develop a language for a longer period of time if I were even to think of trying to memorize some of it.

Another reason is I don't plan on using my language to talk to others or anything like that (atleast not yet, anyway). My languages are a form of artistic expression for me, like my music and art creations. I find new ways to say things I already know how to say in other languages- and possibly things that aren't even in any other languages. I feel more in control of the feelings I'm writing down when they are in my created language, because I'm following my own rules and not my English or Spanish professor's.