wedding congratulations

Moderator:TheStrayCat

ChristineS
wedding congratulations

Postby ChristineS » 2011-03-04, 5:40

Hi everybody, I'm new on the site.
Tomorrow I'm invited to an ukrainian wedding. I would like to write something nice in Ukrainian (I can use the cyrillic alphabet - learned some Russian many many years ago...). I know to bride to-be but not the groom, both are Ukrainian. They are both in their 40's, second wedding for both.
2 sentences will be great. Could be a quotation from a well-known poem or song. Any ideas, someone ? This is important to me because the bride could be my son's mother-in-law in the future... :D
In exchange I can help in French (my mother language and I'm a literature editor), my English and my Hebrew are decent too.
Thanks in advance. Have a great day.

TheStrayCat
Language Forum Moderator

Re: wedding congratulations

Postby TheStrayCat » 2011-03-11, 17:08

ChristineS wrote:Hi everybody, I'm new on the site.
Tomorrow I'm invited to an ukrainian wedding. I would like to write something nice in Ukrainian (I can use the cyrillic alphabet - learned some Russian many many years ago...). I know to bride to-be but not the groom, both are Ukrainian. They are both in their 40's, second wedding for both.
2 sentences will be great. Could be a quotation from a well-known poem or song. Any ideas, someone ? This is important to me because the bride could be my son's mother-in-law in the future... :D
In exchange I can help in French (my mother language and I'm a literature editor), my English and my Hebrew are decent too.
Thanks in advance. Have a great day.

Hello!
After some googling I bumped into this collection of greetings for weddings. As you can see, its content is mostly songs with best wishes, also something like that can be found here.