Lingua franca in Lithuania

Moai
Lingua franca in Lithuania

Postby Moai » 2015-05-30, 23:15

I'm a spanish engineering student who just found out that I'm going to spend the next autumn semester studying in Kaunas, and probably extend it to the spring semester. From what I've read, I know that apart from lithuanian young people learn Russian at school and old people know the language from the time their country was part of the Soviet Union. I've read as well that Lithuania is one of the slavic countries with less russians and less fraction of the population understanding russian (but still above two thirds or so). I'm obviously going to end up learning some basic Lithuanian for survival purposes, but I feel that Russian would be a much stronger language to put my efforts into learning, mainly because of its potentia future uses, as an engineer (the more widely spoken language I can speak, the better). ¿What do you think?

Varaleiva

Re: Lingua franca in Lithuania

Postby Varaleiva » 2015-05-31, 6:13

Lingua franca in Lithuania is lithuanian.

Saim

Postby Saim » 2015-05-31, 8:52

Moai wrote:I've read as well that Lithuania is one of the slavic countries with less russians

Lithuania is not a Slavic country - the Lithuanians are a Baltic nation related to Latvians and then only more distantly to Slavs - and most Slavic countries have very few Russians in them. The only exceptions are the Czech Republic (immigrants in Prague) and former USSR republics (Ukraine and Belarus).

I think if you're going to make a point of learning a language while in Lithuania it would make more sense to learn Lithuanian. That's not to say you shouldn't learn Russian, I just don't think you'll find much immersion in Russian in Lithuania as its use there is limited. It would be like learning Spanish in Portugal or German in Denmark - you may find lots of classes available, but using it socially with the average local would be difficult.