Fābula Brevis

Ahmes
Fābula Brevis

Postby Ahmes » 2009-08-13, 18:40

Salvē,
I'm quite new to Latin, and try to write short stories as practice. I currently know only the present tense and have a rather limited vocabulary, so the stories still sound somewhat poor.
I'd be glad if you could correct my errors and give whatever other tips:

Marcus est puer. Pater Marcī est argentārius, nunc est occupātus. Marcus prope iānuam stat et clāmōrem facit. ‘Satis, fīlius!’ clāmat pater. Sed puer nōn est quiētus. ‘Cūr tū mē vexās?’ inquit pater.
‘Father, I am bored...’
‘Quid tū dīcis? Linguam Anglicam nōn sciō.’
‘Linguam Anglicam in interrētī discō, sed nēmō in urbe mē intellegit.’
‘Marcus, sumus in Rōmā antīquā, lingua Anglica nōn exsistit; barbarī in Britanniā Celtice loquuntur.’
Pater exit...

‘Ubi est pater?’ inquit Marcus.
‘Pater abest, ad tabernam contendit’ servus respondet.
Pater tabernam petit et librum Anglicum emit. Pater quoque linguam Anglicam discit et puerum intelegit.

Babelfish

Re: Fābula Brevis

Postby Babelfish » 2009-08-15, 14:05

I don't see any obvious errors, although take into account my Latin isn't much either... I thought "taberna" was a wrong word here and it turns out I was the one wrong :P
Afaik, Latin usually puts the verb at the end of the sentence, which you've done in most of the story except the first sentences.
Also, I'd drop "tu" from what the father says, again afaik Latin tends to drop personal pronouns when they're clear from the verb form (the usual case).
--- Ah, found a mistake: it should be "satis, fīlī!" in vocative.
And the father didn't mention that not only did English not exist at the time, but also neither did the Internet :P

Ahmes

Postby Ahmes » 2009-08-17, 11:15

Thanks. I forgot about the vocative (even existing), I read somewhere that it's usually the same as nominative so I didn't bother to set my mind to watch for it...