Latina lingua - Psi-Lord

Psi-Lord
Latina lingua - Psi-Lord

Postby Psi-Lord » 2007-12-24, 22:48

Although I started studying Latin almost ten years ago, and then had it for one year at university, I’ve never really gone too far with it, and always ended up dropping it for one reason or another. This time, however, I made up my mind about starting from scratch and sticking to it, and so I’ve been studying Latin again since around the beginning of the month. I’m studying it on my own, and, although I’ve got a couple of very good support materials (both in paper and online, and both in English and Portuguese), I’m mostly following Napoleão Mendes de Almeida’s Gramática Latina, which is both a grammar book and a course. I’ve been able to go through it quite well so far, but it seems I’ve finally got stuck on a couple of points and can’t help reaching out for some guidance.

The lessons are usually set with throughout explanations about the topic they’re on, then general questions on the points presented, and finally translation exercises (both from Latin to Portuguese and vice-versa). Right now I’m in lesson 54, ‘Compounds of Sum’. The following are the sentences I got stuck on, and I’d really appreciate it if someone could give me some hints about the problems I’m having with them.

First, the translations from Latin (which I’ve then translated from my Portuguese versions into English for the sake of exposing my doubts more clearly, of course, even though I’m sure I can lose something in the process):

Prudentia abest a malitia distatque plurimum.

Although this one wasn’t particularly difficult, I thought it sounded a bit awkward in Portuguese, so I’m not sure my translation is correct: ‘Prudence is distinct from wickedness and stands apart from it.’

Inter meam domum et tuam interest flumen et pons.