Two syntax questions

Moderator:Naava

Cruzverde
Two syntax questions

Postby Cruzverde » 2014-06-18, 11:25

I recently started learning finnish. Searching for learning material over the web, I came across the Selko Uutiset section of yle.fi, and especially its Toisi Selko subsection, which is even better : finally some written material I can fully understand at once ! Well, almost...
I stumbled upon two minor difficulties :

1/ In this article about automated driving car (http://yle.fi/selkouutiset/index.php?id=9977), there is that one sentence of which I don't fully get the syntax and the meaning :
Ihmiset voivat ostaa autoon uudenlaista tekniikkaa jo nyt.

My problem is with "autoon" : why an illative here ? I get the general meaning : People can already buy new technology "related" to cars. I would have expected a plural inessive (autoissa : new technology in cars), or a genitive (auton : new technology of the car (car as a general notion)). But why an illative ?

2/ In that other article about snakes you might meet in Spring (http://yle.fi/selkouutiset/index.php?id=9979), I am quite lost with that sentence :
Käärmeitä on kotien lähellä vain lyhyen aikaa.

Considering those words put altogether, I guess it means something like : «Snakes stay quite close to their home.», but I'm not sure. Could someone help me breakdown this sentence in smaller meaningful units ? For now, I get :
    -Käärmeitä = Snakes (plural partitive, so «snakes in general» or «unspecified number of snakes»)
    -on = are (but is it ok with «on» in the singular ? Or is the grammatical subjet of «on» somewhereelse in the sentence ?)
    -kotien lähellä = close to home (actually «homes», genitive plural)