Learning Faroese in Holland

Moderator:Mulder-21

Catharina
Learning Faroese in Holland

Postby Catharina » 2007-03-15, 20:40

Heilsa everyone,

So here's another Týr fan..in the Netherlands this time! :D I've been trying to learn some Faroese for a few months now and only just found this forum!

So far I'm studying out of Lockwood, as I haven't ordered the Faroese Rerefence Grammar yet (will do, will do). I'm planning to do the language course at the Fróðskaparsetur Føroya in the summer of 2009, as this year is just not a possibility.

At the moment I have found just one Føroyingur living in the Netherlands and I'm meeting him next week and hope he can help me with some pronounciation. I try to watch Dagur og Vika online (www.svf.fo) as often as possible, as it really helps to understand the written words as well!

Hope to learn more from you all in the future,
Cat.

Mulder-21

Postby Mulder-21 » 2007-03-16, 15:00

Wow, this is great. And I do admire your ambition, Catharina. :)

One more thing you could do, is to read news. http://www.portalurin.fo and http://www.uf.fo are best for free news. www.uf.fo even has an English version, so you can compare and see if you understood the stories correctly. Both website also have links, which allow you to hear streamed radio (the station broadcasting is the national station ÚF (Útvarp Føroya)).

Men herja á, og so lærir tú skjótt føroyskt. :)
Gløgt er gestsins eyga. (Føroyskt orðafelli)
Wise is the stranger's eye. (Faroese saying)
L'occhio dell'ospite è acuto. (Proverbio faroico)
Hosťovo oko je múdre. (Faerské uslovie)

Fluent: Faroese, Danish, English, German
Almost fluent: Norwegian, Swedish
Basic: Slovak (studying), Spanish
Have studied: Hebrew, Russian
Interests: Ukrainian, Romanian, Italian, Albanian, Armenian, Ossetic, Hungarian, Estonian, Baltic languages

Hunef

Postby Hunef » 2007-03-16, 20:06

What's "heilsa" (other than a noun meaning 'health', cf. Swe. hälsa)? :?