Please rate my pronunciation (again, please...)

Moderator:JackFrost

Erkki79
Please rate my pronunciation (again, please...)

Postby Erkki79 » 2015-09-06, 17:52

An expert of English will evaluate my spoken English next Wednesday. This is a part of a university course I'm taking and there will be a grade, but it will not be nothing final or absolute. In other words, I will survive. We are allowed to choose our own text, and I have chosen a text from Tacitus. The text can be found from the link below, but you might want to listen the audio before seeing the text. It's up to you!

Audio: http://vocaroo.com/i/s1lgdDtAP9FO

The expert is one of the leading experts of spoken English in my country, so please be cruel! I have to get it right. I think that my pronunciation will be the main thing in the evalution, but I don't know, I'm not an expert.

Thank you in advance!

Source: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fenni#Material_culture

linguoboy

Re: Please rate my pronunciation (again, please...)

Postby linguoboy » 2015-09-07, 2:18

In wonderful savageness live the nation of the Fenni(1), and in beastly poverty, destitute of arms(2), of horses, and of homes; their food, the common herbs(3); their apparel(4), skins; their bed(5), the earth; their only(6) hope in their arrows, which for want of iron(7) they point with bones.

1) The pronunciation of Fenni is very odd. It sounds almost like you're saying "Ferni" or inserting a glottal stop between /ɛ/ and /n/.
2) There needs to be a longer pause preceded by a definite terminal fall on of arms, because otherwise it sounds like "destitute of arms of horses".
3) You're going for UK English, right? Because otherwise the h is silent.
4) This word was unrecognisable. At first I thought you were saying "April".
5) The vowel should be [ɛ]. Yours is much to close here, virtually identical to [e].
6) I here own, not only. You appear to be swallowing the entire second syllable.