TAC 2016 (ich) German, Norwegian, Vietnamese, Spanish

This forum is for the Total Annihilation Challenge. See the sticky thread for more information.

Moderators:''', Forum Administrators

ich
TAC 2016 (ich) German, Norwegian, Vietnamese, Spanish

Postby ich » 2016-03-28, 7:58

Finally I have been blessed (and a bit cursed) with having some extra free time, allowing me to revisit my favorite hobby, language learning. I have missed it greatly. I am learning Spanish, Norwegian, Russian, and French for different reasons, which will influence my motivation and effort towards those languages.

Recently a Spanish teacher position has opened up in my city. I majored in Spanish, however my language skills do anything but reflect that degree. In fact, it is embarrassing to mention it. Overall, I am tired of being embarrassed and also I want to be prepared for this job position. I will be honest though. Spanish is not my favorite language and I am highly unmotivated as far as the language itself is concerned, but I will see how well I stay on task and aim for my goal. I will be happy if I even study it once a week.

Norwegian is my new love. I have taken classes up to the intermediate level in college 10 years ago, but never got the chance to minor in it due to scheduling problems. I tried learning it on my own again about 5 years ago and I got about as far as I did in college, and now I am trying to revisit it again. Unfortunately, I have noticed that I am basically right back at the bitter beginning. Very frustrating. I have a great short-term memory, but a terrible long-term memory.

Russian is kinda of the language that I really shouldn't be taking on right now because I have enough on my plate and I need to dedicate a lot of time to it, if I am going to get anywhere with it, but I just can't resist it. My fav app, Duolingo now added that language and now it is too tempting to pursue. I just work on it here and there, really just enough to keep it in my mind.