Adjective order

This is our main forum. Here, anything related to languages and linguistics can be discussed.

Moderator:Forum Administrators

Ayiaearel
Adjective order

Postby Ayiaearel » 2007-12-29, 18:14

In English, some adjectives must be used in a particular order.
Wikipedia wrote:...in English, adjectives pertaining to size generally precede adjectives pertaining to age ("little old", not "old little"), which in turn generally precede adjectives pertaining to color ("old green", not "green old").

How rigid are these kinds of rules in your language?
¡A la máquina!

Psi-Lord

Postby Psi-Lord » 2007-12-29, 18:39

Curious that one of your examples is about ‘little old’ versus ‘old little’, because I instantly remembered a line from a school play from back when I started studying English that said something about an ‘old little cottage in the woods’.

I have never thought about it regarding Portuguese. Although I assume that we have more freedom than English when it comes to such kind of order, I just go for what sounds right or what doesn’t after all, so I guess I’d have to ask a foreigner who happens to have studied Portuguese in order to know if they’re ever taught any such rules. :oops:

A rule of thumb I once read regarding the position of adjectives and the nouns they qualify had it that objective adjectives (size, colour etc.) usually come after the noun, while subjective adjectives (impressions, beauty etc.) either come before the noun or are free to be placed in either position. If two such adjectives are paired, then it sounds quite natural for me to insert the noun in between, such as in ‘an old green tree’ = uma velha árvore verde. Inverting the order, however, wouldn’t sound necessarily wrong – only highly poetical or literary.